Clinical Hematology

Haematology department serves as a center for the diagnosis and treatment of benign and malign hematological disorders. In our department, patients are taken care in three areas: Hospitalization area, external consultations and outpatient care.

In the clinical haematology department, two specific units are integrated: the Lymphoma and Myeloma Clinical Area and the Haematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation Unit.

The Lymphoma & Myeloma Clinical Area focuses on lymphoproliferative disorders (LPDs), excluding acute lymphoblastic leukemias (ALL), which are originated from lymphoid cells. LPDs account for about three quarters of all hematological neoplasms.

Medical staff of the Lymphoma & Myeloma Clinical Unit is constituted by several physicians from the Haematology Service. According to the diagnosed disease, each patient is assigned to one hematologist who becomes responsible for his/her clinical management. Hematologist activity develops mainly in external consultations and day hospital, directing treatment strategy and supervising medical staff from the hospitalization area in the event that the patient requires hospitalization.

The Lymphoma & Myeloma Clinical Unit participates in the general activities of The Haematology Service and has also its own activities, such as biweekly sessions focused on clinical protocols reviewing and clinical cases reporting. Additionally, this Unit participates in joint sessions with the Medical Image Area (Radiodiagnosis & Nuclear Medicine). Apart from conventional clinical care, this Unit has a marked translational character, which is reflected in its involvement in numerous clinical trials.

Haematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation Unit activity began in 1987 with the first adult bone marrow stem cell transplantation in adults. Since then, approximately 2,700 transplants have been performed in our institution. In 1997 this Unit started performing Umbilical Cord Blood transplantations, leading nowadays the clinical research in this field and becoming one of the most relevant institutions together with the Institute of Medical Sciences (Tokyo University) and the University of Minnesota. This unit collaborates closely with the Centro de Transfusión de la Comunidad Valenciana, Registro de Donantes de Médula Ósea (REDMO), Organización Nacional de Trasplantes (ONT), Grupo Español de Trasplante Hematopoyético y Terapia Celular (GETH), European Group for Blood and Marrow Transplantation (EBMT) and EuroCord.